OT: An SUV or Pick-up

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2004, 06:09 PM
AGC
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OT: An SUV or Pick-up

All,

I am looking for a second vehicle for my family. Currently I have a 2004 Honda Odyssey that my wife uses as a daily driver, I have a 1996 Ford Windstar that I use and last is my 1996 993TT. Now I just got the Honda and it is a great minivan, I have always had a minivan in the family and love them because of their versitility. I have had sevel SUVs (Explorer, Sequia and GMC Jimmy). I am looking to get rid of my Windstar and get either a 1999 GMC/Chevy Suburban or a 1999+ (extended cab) GMC Sierra or Chevy Silverado. Which ever one I decide on it will be a 4x4 (I live in NJ/NYC and need the 4x4 for my wife in the winter). Now I have never owned a pick-up before and am not sure if I should get one or just stick with an SUV. I was thinking of getting a pick-up to be able to carry stuff from Home Depot or anything else I purchase. I will also use the truck as my daily driver, which is only 2-4 miles a day (bus stop). So my question is should I get the full size SUV or a fullsize pick-up. Please help and give me rpos and cons.

Thanks
Old 09-09-2004, 06:23 PM
seege
Addict
Rennlist Member

AC
I think you answered your own question. If you need it for Home Depot runs then you will be thrashing your interior of your suv or trying to strap plywood to the roof. Removing seats and putting down protective covers is a major PITA and sometimes a 2 person job.
Good Luck
Old 09-09-2004, 06:29 PM
AGC
Racer

Kim, Thanks and I really don't need a people hauler because I have the Odyssey.

Seege, Thanks and I was thinking the same thing and didn't really want to worry about messing up the seats or anything else inside the vehicle.