New Porsche owner: 1996 Polar Silver Targa

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2004, 09:45 PM
1996targa
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool New Porsche owner: 1996 Polar Silver Targa

Hi,

I just bought a 6,500 miles 1996 Polar Silver Targa (black interior, 6-speed). It is entirely stock and practically brand new. I have put almost 800 miles on it since I bought it (having driven it only 5 times since)! What a thrill a 993 is!

As a newbie, I have four key questions for the experts on this site:

1. What should I use to keep the black leather seats looking/feeling new and soft. I noticed that when I wiped the seats with a slightly damp terry cloth, the black leather surface seems to whiten a bit after the water moisture dries. Am I removing natural oils from the leather by doing this? My mechanic recommended Lexol, but I am a bit hesitant to use leather treatment chemicals since I've seen some treated leather seats that don't look that good - they have this artificial glow that makes the leather look plasticy.

2. Having driven 800 miles, my engine does not seem to consume any Mobile 1 engine oil. I have repeatedly checked both the oil level gauge (which seems functional) AND the dip stick (on level ground with the engine warmed up), but the oil level has not budged. Could there be something wrong with my engine? Or is this just the characteristics of a relatively new (6500 miles) engine.

3. My 17" tires are still the original stock PZero Asymetricos. Since the car has been sitting around for 8 years now (being driven only occasionally), is there a chance that the tires have gone bad (e.g. someone told me that tires can dry out over time and pose the risk at high speeds of disintegrating)? I've checked them and the wheel walls and treads all look fine, but the road noise from the tires seem a bit on the noisier side (compared with my friend's 993 coupe with 17" tires).