Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2004, 06:29 AM
Chris Berendes
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Get ready after Hibernation

Hi Everyone,

its currently the saddest time of the year for me when my 993 is hibernating in the garage and will only get out again in April - yipee.

I was looking after her yesterday and, as it is my first year with my dream car, wondering whether there is anything specific that I should absolutely be doing before driving once I get her on the road again (will have been siitng in Garage since December 2003). Car just got the 90k service at my local P dealer before going into winter sleep.

All recommendations are welcome, cant wait to get back driving again - winter sucks!!

Christoph

Old 02-01-2004, 09:12 AM
amfp
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Chris,

Agree, been a rough winter around where I live too. Not sure
exactly how your car was stored. But what I do is the following:

1) Put car back on insurance.
2) Check under car for any leaks.
3) Check around engine and front areas for anything unusual, like mouse droppings.
4) Check area around battery for anything uncommon. I suspect your was on trickle charger.
5) Check air in tires if were over inflated.
6) Pump brakes and clutch.
7) Start car, and let idle for about one minute or two and check again for any leaks.
8) I slow drive car around locally under 3K RPMS until the oil fully warms, about 30 minutes.
9) Than drive as normally would, probably refill gas after first run to get some fresher gas in tank, and recheck oil.

7)
Old 02-01-2004, 11:36 AM
Dudley
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Make sure you check all the gauges. I have one that is particularly worrisome. I normally allow the car to warm up to 50 - around April or so.
Old 02-01-2004, 12:14 PM
Chris Berendes
Addict
Rennlist Member

Mo, Dudley,

thanks a lot for the good advice. Lets hope for s ahort winter and a great summer!!

Chris
Old 02-01-2004, 02:09 PM