Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   992 (https://rennlist.com/forums/992-245/)
-   -   Auto-blip Rev Match What The? (https://rennlist.com/forums/992/1393688-auto-blip-rev-match-what-the.html)

Fredeee 02-01-2024 02:26 PM

Auto-blip Rev Match What The?

Ok... total newb question here. My first 911 (I have a '24 4 GTS). It has a feature called "auto-blip" which, from what I understand, helps you rev-match on downshifts. For those like me who have driven manuals for a billion years and never heard of it, the engine engages when you shift into gear, not when you pull off the clutch. It's weird, especially for those that are used to downshifting to slow the car or just simply downshifting when entering slower traffic. Question, who in God's name actually uses this (it's default in Sport and Sport Plus) or am I completely out of touch with how the 911 drives.

breny4104 02-01-2024 02:54 PM

I'm not an expert, others will chime in with better answers I'm sure, but I'll give it a try...
1. Auto blip makes for a smoother downshift, without the initial lurch.
2. Racers would use heel-toe shifting - one foot on the break and on the gas at the same time to rev-match. The lurch caused by downshifting without rev-matching while in a curve can cause the rear end to lose traction.
3. with auto blip, you still slow down with engine braking but it isn't as sudden initially.
4. it's a sports car and rev-matching helps on the track.

BaxterPup 02-01-2024 03:07 PM

As I don't possess the skill of Walter Rohrl to dance on the pedals for blipping the throttle myself for smooth downshifts, I have auto-blip on all the time and love it!

Fishah 02-01-2024 03:19 PM

Have you just not been rev matching your downshifts all these years?

The system works brilliantly...