Sponsored by:

Opinions and clarifications on a couple of options

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2020, 11:03 AM
hinckley
Three Wheelin'

Received 253 Likes on 144 Posts
Default Opinions and clarifications on a couple of options

I wish I could say I was a newbie, but I'm finally working on finalizing an order for my fifth 911 - an MT C2S Cab. In the past, I've always ended up over-optioning my cars because it makes no sense to me spending $140k on a car and not being happy because I left off $10k worth of options. And of course, Porsche is the master of incrementing you to death. My current car - a 2015 991.1 GTS Cab - cost $154k and that was really in nosebleed territory me. So I'm trying to be crazy prudent on optioning the 992. My current spec is just under $156k, but it doesn't include a few things that in the past, I think I would have ordered. So I'd like opinions . . .

Sport Exhaust. Leaving this off saves $2370 (thru the MT Sport Package). It's something I've always had on my 911s and even retro-fitted it on my first one. But to be real, I think it's something that others hear from outside the car more than the driver hears inside the car. And the 992's standard quad tailpipes look sooo much better than the sport exhaust's dual pipes.

PDLS+. Leaving this off saves $1270. I think all I lose is the swivel and leveling functions, right? I can't remember the last time I had any car that didn't have those two features, but I've recently moved to Florida and never drive country roads anymore, so I'm thinking I won't miss them. Frankly, I'm not sure I even notice them now in my other car (a BMW).