Notices
992 2019-Present The Forum for the Non-Turbo 911
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Porsche....help me with my journey?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2020, 02:58 AM
3RsInCarrera
Instructor

Received 250 Likes on 69 Posts
Default New to Porsche....help me with my journey?

Hello, thanks for taking a look at my thread. I’m new to the prospects of owning a Porsche. Let’s just say I’m a “long time dreamer, first time (hopeful) buyer.” I had been waiting for the new Corvette C8 to upgrade to from my C7, but I just don’t love the new Chevy the way I do the C7–and the way I do the 911.

I’ve got a tightish budget and a steep learning curve to climb so I thought I’d ask for your help!

Most pressing question. 992 Carrera S vs Carrera base.
As far as I can tell, the hp/tq is up on the S, 6-pot vice 4-pot calipers, and a few options are not available on base that are available on S (notably a manual transmission for now). oh, and price! Are those all the differences? It seems like I read something about a handling or traction control feature that the S has as standard that was optional on base. If true, what is it?

I have read that “nobody wants the base, everyone wants the S or above.” Some say the same thing about the C7 Stingray, but sales figures indicate otherwise. The base Vette sells the most. So maybe “nobody prefers” the base, but it still sells alot. How is it in the 911 community?

Say you have $120k budget (before TTL), how would you spec the car? Stripped S or well-apportioned base?

Are any colors less-popular in the re-sale market. Of course I plan to own the car a long time, but I don’t want to spec a car nobody else will want!

If spec’ing an S, what option would HAVE to go on it in your opinion?

If spec’ing a base, what option combinations are going to make it worth spending S-money but getting a base car at $120k?