Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   992 GT3 and GT2RS Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/992-gt3-and-gt2rs-forum-256/)
-   -   Manual Transmission Feedback (https://rennlist.com/forums/992-gt3-and-gt2rs-forum/1272218-manual-transmission-feedback.html)

DCGT3 11-03-2021 09:23 AM

Picked up my MT GT3 and drove it 150 miles on street roads and highway. I don’t have a point of reference as my only other 911 was a PDK. I am not an expert MT driver.

I did not feel that the car was stalled easily in first gear and the gearbox in general was what I would expect of a car of this caliber and price range. Such an amazing car.

Il CP 11-03-2021 09:44 AM

Got to finally take a MT GT3 for a test this morning. I think its clutch is very comparable to my 981 GT4 in many ways. Maybe a hair lighter, but otherwise similar. Love the quick clutch with fast dis- and re-engagement.
I suppose that if one were to install a twin or triple disc racing clutch, it would be heavier, but as long as power is stock, I think this is a marvellously smooth clutch. This clutch setup will be "easy" to drive fast and should be wonderful to live with. Can't wait:)

3-Pedals 12-24-2021 04:39 PM

Wanted to bump this thread to consolidate MT feedback. I think I have been hearing/seeing some comments regarding MT not being smooth and slow as well as overall doesnt sound like what was expected. Interestingly, the negative comments people post are positives for me as I dont want an easy car to drive. I think the challenges around flywheel and revs dropping too quickly adds to the rawness of the experience. I’m curious to hear from owners who have not had more seat time or those who were fortunate enough to drive a manual as to how the car actually drives.

Also the mechanical vs electronic differential differences that are felt in real world would be good to discuss as well.

IORR 12-25-2021 10:14 AM