Sponsored by:

ordering new - turbo effect on manual vs PDK

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2017, 08:08 PM
onedae
Rennlist Member

Received 105 Likes on 50 Posts
Default ordering new - turbo effect on manual vs PDK

I'm about ready to order a new 911 as my lease is up soon. I'm a long time 911 driver and currently have 15 Carrera S, manual. I generally prefer the manual to PDK although I'm rethinking that bias for my next car. My dealer, who I totally trust, is telling me to order the PDK. He says that when the clutch is in on the manual, turbo boost is lost and the power needs to rebuild when the clutch is re-engaged. On the PDK, because the engine is never off power, the boost is not lost and thus the engine is always on boost. I never heard that before.
So, I test drove 3 different cars today - a base 911 manual, a C4S PDK, and a 16 Panamera GTS. The base car manual felt a bit faster than my current C2S and the power comes on lower in the RPM range. I did not feel any turbo lag or loss of boost as my dealer described. The C4S PDK was definitely faster and the PDK gear box is lightening quick shifting - BUT - me being an old school guy, still preferred the manual. Finally, even though it's not the car for me, the Panny GTS was just amazing, Very fast, handles like its on rails and the exhaust note is the best ever. It drives small BUT its huge. Great car and a bargain for the right buyer.
Back on point, I'd appreciate any thoughts re the issue of turbo lag on the manual vs PDK.
Separately, on the issue of sport chrono or not, I hate that little controller stalk on the steering wheel. So I'm thinking of not ordering sport chrono. I don't really care about launch control or rev matching and I don't track my car. I can't see any real need for it. Your thoughts??
Thanks for your help.
Old 01-08-2017, 08:11 PM
dmtsc
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I drove a 2017 manual Carrera and never felt a loss of turbo boost, fyi.
Old 01-08-2017, 08:16 PM
Abe Froman
Pro