Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

An Overdue New Member Introduction!

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2016, 03:22 PM
amre
Advanced

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default An Overdue New Member Introduction!

Hello all, I joined the forum when I started shopping for my 991. The search started for a pre-owned ('14-'15) but then as I learned more I decided to go test drive the .2 and comparing the overall usability as a daily driver to the .1, I ultimately decided to go for broke!

While this is my 3rd Porsche, it's my first new one and my first 911. My love for Porsche goes back to my childhood (as it does for most of us), but specifically from watching Risky Business! When I graduated college, I had an Acura Integra GS-R and as soon as I got a job, I sold it and purchased what I thought was a bargain... an '87 944 Turbo for $7,500 (couldn't afford a 928)! Well, it was too much of a bargain and ended up being a nightmare. I decided to ante up and get another 951 in better shape, so I found an '89 with only 5,200 miles and paid out the nose for it but it was worth every penny. This is when I fell in love with Porsche. I owned that car for two years then sold it when I went to grad school. To this day, I regret that I sold it. Over the years (I'm 42 now), I tried so hard to replicate the feeling by owning M3s, AMGs, and various other cars but could never feel as connected as I did with the 944.

Then somehow I forgot about the dream and started buying cars that are great to drive but not exactly what I wanted. I ended up with AMGs and finally went the Maserati route. I loved the prestige but still did not feel the connection.