Notices
991 2012-2019
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

slight hesitation on accel at 3k rpm (991 base, MT)

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2012, 01:03 AM
jester
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default slight hesitation on accel at 3k rpm (991 base, MT)

Hi guys,

I've been enjoying my 991 base 7 speed MT for 2 months now, coming out of a 997.1S cabriolet.

I love everything about it, and have reviewed here previously why. Except I'm now noticing just 1 tiny thing, and it is starting to bother me.

In 1st gear, usually only upon the first 10min after a cold start in the morning, upon about 30% throttle (so not gentle, but not WOT either), right at 2900 to 3200 rpm, I get a slight hesitation. As if the fuel was just ever so slightly tapered back. Just a little tiny bit. But I notice it every morning. And it's always right in that rpm range. Happens both in sport mode on/off and sports exhaust on/off (all 4 combos). Now, if I go WOT, it seems to be less noticeable, but it's still there. And when warm, much less noticeable, but still there or I'm thinking it's still there.

I'm right on the edge of just bringing it in to the dealer but would rather put up with it till my 5k service (at 2k now).

What do you guys think? Mass airflow sensor? O2 sensor? (are they the same?) If so, I'm wondering if its ok to just put up with it or if other folks have noticed in either 991's or 997's that it got worse over time and I should really just bring it in?

Thanks in advance.
Jester
Old 07-18-2012, 10:02 AM
FORENN
Banned

Received 666 Likes on 327 Posts

not sure -- haven't noticed that in mine at all
Old 07-18-2012, 10:20 AM
Carrera GT
Wordsmith
Rennlist Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Any chance you can stick a video camera on the windshield and video the dash / tach / speedo as this happens?