Sponsored by:

CarPlay Kit Install - CarPlay Retrofits

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2024, 10:08 AM
TeamHog
Track Day

Received 13 Likes on 4 Posts
Default CarPlay Kit Install - CarPlay Retrofits

Just wanted to post some notes from my AppleCar Play / PCM re-install.
I apologize up front for not taking pictures or videos.

I purchased the CarPlay unit from Chris Giuffre @ https://carplayretrofits.com
He was very helpful.

I’m an engineer and have worked on electronics for decades.
Having said that, ribbing cables & I don’t get along.
Chris provides an optional kit install, so I took advantage of that.
Shipped him the unit; he got it installed correctly and he shipped it back.
I had it all installed but kept getting a ribbon cable to un-seat as I was putting it back together.
He’s quick and thorough and saved me a bunch of time and hassle.

The PCM removal is straight forward.
There’s tons of videos that can show you how to do that.

Once you you’re ready to remove it you’ll need to place to move the shifter away from the PCM.
You then need angle the PCM up and then out to get to the connectors in the rear of the PCM.
I found holding the PCM and removing the connectors requires an additional hand.

I constructed a box slightly higher than the gear shift with a hole large enough to move the it between Park & Drive.
This allowed me to sit the PCM on top of it and then the connectors were easier to connect/disconnect.

I taped the antennas to the top of the PCM.
This kept them secured and out of the way of getting pinched or damaged.

My biggest hurdle in the entire re-install process was getting the PCM fully seated.
When you connect all the cables/wires make sure they are routed to allow more room for the PCM to move out. I
did this by removing the fiber cables from the original bundle. It simply required removing some of the friction tape.