Sponsored by:

Rattle in cabriolet

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2021, 12:06 PM
Tbounds
Racer

Received 79 Likes on 52 Posts
Default Rattle in cabriolet

I have a 991.1 cabriolet it has developed what describe as a vibration rattle in back seat area top passenger side corner . I took it to dealer and they think it is from a spring worn /loose that is under the side flaps that lift up during opening and closing top. I looked at it and I could tell any difference between either side and the spring appears fine . They want $859 to replace?
has anyone else had this spring replace due to worn out spring?
I have seen a post about a loose bolt but I can’t seem to find the bolt they are referencing.
I asked if I don’t replace it will it fail and of course they say it will. It only makes the noise on ruff roads
many help will be appreciated
Old 08-08-2021, 03:19 PM
JW911
Three Wheelin'

Received 352 Likes on 183 Posts

I have some significant experience with rattles on my 2014 C4S cab and I recently found a final cure so I hope this can help you. There were two separate rattles that I had, both seemingly coming from the right rear of the car. The first was discovered by the dealer. The cab top is operated by cables on each side and there is a socket at the end of the cable that mounts to a bracket with a ball on it. The bracket on the right was loose enough for it to move around quite a bit. The left one was also slightly loose. You can find these cables by opening the rear top cover (also the engine cover) and then manually flip up the back of the top. You will see the cables. Follow them to the bracket and see if they are loose. If so, tighten them up but use some blue Loctite to keep them tight. I know this because my dealer tightened them without the Loctite and it didn't last long. This solution had the additional benefit of significantly reducing the squeaks and clunks from various areas of my top (when up) due to the cables now being fully tightened.