Notices
991 2012-2019
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

EXTREME Cold weather 991.1 Carrera S Questions! Help?!

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2019, 07:08 PM
Radioactive991
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EXTREME Cold weather 991.1 Carrera S Questions! Help?!

Hello Everyone!
I am a 24 year old pilot and car enthusiast like yourselves, born and raised in San Diego, CA. I have been going to school in North Dakota, where this past winter it got as cold as -65 degrees Fahrenheit. I am in San Diego now but am about to go back to school in North Dakota and I really want to bring my car, I have some questions for anyone who has owned a car in extreme temperatures like these.

I own a 2013 911 Carrera S (manual transmission) sitting on black HRE Wheels with Pilot Sport 4S tires (love these tires but will definitely get snow tires before it starts snowing, open to suggestions). I absolutely love this car and would really love to bring it to school with me. This past year I brought my 2013 BMW X5 Diesel and still own that aswell but am considering selling it and bringing the 911 instead. The BMW X5 was great in the snow but the diesel gelled up pretty fast past -30 degrees making the car unusable for weeks with these sustained temperatures (even with built in heated block and fuel pump).

My 911 has 60k miles on it and has never had any issues whatsoever, I will of course be getting a full service done here in CA before bringing it to North Dakota. Especially because they had a hard time even finding an oil filter for my 2013 BMW X5, they just don't see European cars over there much at all.

I am curious if anyone can help me with real world knowledge or any knowledge on how to care for my 911 in these extremes and if the car can even handle this stress??
Can anyone help me?
Cant seem to find any guides for these temps, thanks
Old 07-30-2019, 07:19 PM
LexVan
Banned

Received 5,407 Likes on 2,514 Posts

Well, run Mobil 0W40 for sure.