PPI Question/Possible Red Flag on 991

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2019, 03:52 PM
Eclipser
Rennlist Member

Received 6 Likes on 2 Posts
Question PPI Question/Possible Red Flag on 991

Hey guys,

Looking at purchasing my first 991.1 . Found a seller with a seemingly good 2012 specimen at 30k miles. Was ready to move pending a PPI as we agreed on a price but this issue popped up regarding damaged exhaust headers, how much of a red flag should this be? The Porsche rep seemed to indicate the car was good otherwise (Pending some loose ends that are relatively small), but I'm puzzled as to how the exhaust headers might have been damaged like this. Either way this definitely puts a damper on the purchase unless the seller wants to cover it, but I was curious to get your thoughts as I'm new to buying this model.
Old 06-26-2019, 04:28 PM
LexVan
Banned

Received 5,402 Likes on 2,513 Posts

My guess. Had aftermarket headers on the car. Then swapped back to OE for the sale. Something broke in the process.

Or, he ran over something in the road.

We've seen guys here drive over curbs. Even parking curbs, because they forgot they were there.

Just fix it and move on. Negotiate the price.
Old 06-26-2019, 06:07 PM
*991*
Rennlist Member

Received 205 Likes on 108 Posts

How bad do u want car? Like lex said negotiate accordingly and purchase or move on It doesn't seem like there are any underlying problems according to the info u have provided.
Old 06-26-2019, 06:21 PM
Bxstr
Rennlist Member

Received 3,063 Likes on 2,103 Posts

Yeah, if that is all they found wrong that's not a big deal. Like others said negotiate and buy the car.
Old 06-26-2019, 06:27 PM
phefner
Rennlist Member

Received 705 Likes on 421 Posts

+2 on what Lex says.

Its a car, **** happens. And your going to drive fast at some point too. Your also going to run over something at some point. Not an "if", a "when". You'll want to pickup some Tire & Wheel Insurance, plus maybe consider a Windshield/Glass policy.