Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Detailing and washing do's and don'ts?

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2019, 01:39 PM
vincenz0
Racer

Received 178 Likes on 77 Posts
Default Detailing and washing do's and don'ts?

I've been cleaning my own cars for many years (always use the two bucket method with grit guards, microfiber towels, etc), but am new to the Porsche world and was wondering if there were any key DO's or DON'Ts when cleaning my 991? Especially a white one.

Feel free to point me to a thread if there is one but I didn't see any after a few searches.

Same question as applies to the interior....any products to avoid? I've never had perforated seats before so how concerned should I be about getting cleaning products into the holes?

Favorite products either interior or exterior?

I haven't done a polish or wax/sealant yet on the Porsche, but am moderately skilled at paint correction with a Porter Cable 7424XP.

Random pic of my baby's first bath under my ownership (yes, I wash the car indoors.)

Old 01-23-2019, 03:03 PM
Psorcery
Banned

Received 171 Likes on 127 Posts

Hello, nice car.

I am a former semi pro detailer. I find that there's too much marketing going on with the dos and don'ts to sell a product. Many things are way too time consuming for a home setup.

My advice is to leave the polishing and waxing to a pro as you can easily have an accident that would cause major headache... If something happens, it's on them.

Just don't touch the paint. Ever. Stick to your foam cannon and two bucket method(which I am also finding too messy and time consuming). Dont trust too much into waterless washes unless you've got PPF.

Best thing to do is get a full detail plus PPF or at the least a ceramic coating. Do your glass and wheels too. Upkeep your black plastics and rubbers. You should be good to go.

The only way I'd stick to traditional detailing (clay, polish, wax etc) is if I was like Bob Z and had literally nothing but time on my hands. AKA a hobby..