Sponsored by:

Buying first Porsche!

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2018, 02:26 AM
Luvwine
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying first Porsche!

Newbie here. Just put a deposit on a CPO 2017 C4S. It is GT Silver and low miles. Prior owner put paint protection on front of car up to side mirrors so condition is really good. I am buying it out of State so it may be a bit before I get my hands on it. So, my question is what do I need to know? Happy for any advice. Any issues tinting the windows? Favorite radar detectors? I run Michelin pilot sport all season tires on our Audi S4 due to driving in the mountain roads in winter sometimes, but would that be criminal on a C4S? Thanks for any words of wisdom or things you wished you knew before you got your first Porsche 911!
Old 07-27-2018, 02:38 AM
phx991
Rennlist Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Ceramic tint and Uniden R3

Also don’t assume that because has PPF that the paint is pristine. I bought mine sight unseen from an out of state dealer, and it had quite a few rock chips under the PPF.

Old 07-27-2018, 07:35 AM
Penn4S
Rennlist Member

Received 1,330 Likes on 750 Posts

I like the ceramic tint also. R3 is the best mounted detector out right now. Michelin 4S are super on these cars.
Drive it, get used to it and comfortable with the car. They are addictive once you get comfortable with what they can do. Then add the baubles that make it yours.
Old 07-27-2018, 08:16 AM
Luvwine
Intermediate

Originally Posted by phx991
Ceramic tint and Uniden R3

Also don’t assume that because has PPF that the paint is pristine. I bought mine sight unseen from an out of state dealer, and it had quite a few rock chips under the PPF.

thanks for your warning. Pics look clean and dealer agreed to put in writing that there are no visual defects to finish. Only 1K miles so should be pretty clean but we will see!
Old 07-27-2018, 08:57 AM
CSK 911 C4S
Rennlist Member

Received 837 Likes on 418 Posts