Sponsored by:

Tires on the car from the factory and questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2018, 10:23 AM
wareaglescott
Burning Brakes

Received 101 Likes on 57 Posts
Default Tires on the car from the factory and questions

Took delivery yesterday of my C2S. It came equipped with Michelin Pilot Sport 4s. The SA seemed to indicate that was a recent change. I was curious about what others have gotten recently. I had about 100 miles highway driving to get it home and was pleased with the interior noise levels on the highway. This was my first significant amount of highly time in a 911 though so really have nothing to compare it to other than hearing negative reviews on that aspect of the P-zeros. Also noticed tread ware rating of 300.

I have limited tire knowledge. Anyone have thoughts on these tires they would care to share?

I notice the door placard shows 35/45 front and rear tire pressures. On the way home once they got warmed up I was indicating 38/48. Will verify the cold pressure today. Any recommendations on general wisdom when it comes to tire pressures on these cars?

Thanks for any input
Old 02-25-2018, 10:32 AM
911-TOUR
Rennlist Member

Received 329 Likes on 169 Posts

Interesting. Will postback here when I see what my Carrera T is delivered on this week.

cheers!
Old 02-25-2018, 10:36 AM
Al.Fresco
Three Wheelin'

Received 332 Likes on 190 Posts

I swapped out my P Zero's for the Pilot Sport 4s and am very happy. I think you won the OEM tire lottery.

As for tire pressure... here is an older article, but still applies. Read this and your manual, and tweak from there. https://www.edmunds.com/porsche/911/...-pressure.html
Old 02-25-2018, 10:42 AM
nilaz
Rennlist Member

Received 69 Likes on 35 Posts

Two GTS yesterday in my dealer.

One with P Zero another with Michelin.

I have no idea which is better to be honest
Old 02-25-2018, 10:43 AM
LexVan
Banned

Received 5,413 Likes on 2,516 Posts

Lots of Pirelli hate on Rennlist.