Questions re Used 991

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2017, 03:02 AM
Jus2626
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions re Used 991

Hey Everyone,

This is my first post on this forum and I have no previous experience with Porsches. I currently have an Audi S3 and am looking to get a used 991 (2012-2014) once my lease is up. I have been browsing around and have run by a few certified pre-owned 991s at around 60k with between 24-35k miles on the car. I had a few preliminary questions regarding by a used 991.

First, how reliable are these cars? I will be driving around 15k miles a year and am looking for something that can would be able to take the millage.

Second, how is the residual on these cars? I checked KBB but those numbers seemed to be quite low. If I'm getting the car at 60k with 25k miles, how much do you think it will be worth with 100k miles when I would look to trade it in? KBB says around 20k.

Third and lastly, how expensive is the maintenance on these cars?

All in all, I am excited to be considering my first Porsche and just wanted to do my due diligence before pulling the trigger. Thanks in advance.
Old 09-08-2017, 11:15 AM
CSK 911 C4S
Rennlist Member

Received 805 Likes on 401 Posts

Welcome and enjoy the hunt for your 911.

My current 991.1 911 C4S is my 1st Porsche after having a number of Audi's and I've found the 911 to me more reliable, easier to work on and of course more fun to drive.

I'm a high miler , currently at 70K and pretty much use the 911 every day in most/all seasons. I do have winter wheels and tires so I'm ready for the white stuff but living in middle TN it's hit or miss on whether we see any.

On service... if you are a DIY'er the maintenance is pretty straight forward ... if not it can be a little bit off putting if you are not prepared or have not done your homework on what the car needs at various intervals.