Very new around here

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2017, 02:24 PM
pashaj
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Very new around here

Hello all,
I'm a bit of a novice at Porsches (most cars actually) but I've been immensely surprised (and overwhelmed) by the amount of information on here. Everyone is so knowledgeable!
I haven't had a car in about 18 months (mostly bc I live in NYC and I don't need it) but I have felt like I have a huge void in my life since and I think I am ready to jump back in. I have been seriously considering the Turbo S (first question, why is it colloquially called TTS? At first I was thinking people were referring to the Audi) and I have a couple questions (for now):
1. How is the upkeep and warranty? I've had several BMWs (last one was 2013 BMW 640i) and they would cover EVERYTHING (including oil changes) for maybe the first 50,000 miles. I never paid anything. How's it with the Porsche Approved Program? Oil changes are not covered I'm guessing?
2. How has the experience been at The Collection dealership in Coral Gambles? I imagine there are a few South Florida members who have had some dealings with their CPO salespeople? I did read about the guy who had his car wrecked and the owner compared him to his 15 yo daughter but that was some years ago. I ask bc they have a Turbo S I'm interested in.
Thanks!
Old 03-01-2017, 04:14 PM
GTorTT
Burning Brakes

Received 131 Likes on 84 Posts

TTS is short for "Twin Turbo S"

Mine is a 2011 TTS. Now has 20,000 miles (weekend car). Maintenance has been oil changes and new tires. Oh, and I replaced the battery myself, as it was five years old. The car is solid and reliable. My Ferrari friends wish they could say that.

Can't comment on Coral Gables.
Old 03-01-2017, 06:31 PM
pashaj
Rennlist Member

Thank you.
Are you taking it to the dealer for the oil changes?
Old 03-01-2017, 08:51 PM
Hawkeye911
Racer

Received 15 Likes on 2 Posts