Notices
991 Turbo 2012-2019 Turbo and Turbo S
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Road Spy

Advice from the 991.2 TT / TTS Brain-Trust (that is you!)

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2017, 04:31 PM
TXccc
AutoX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice from the 991.2 TT / TTS Brain-Trust (that is you!)

Gentlemen (and any ladies out there!) - I'm hoping I can pull from the knowledge and experience of this group to help me answer a few questions. I've been sorting through the forum posts for a few weeks and let me say, you are a knowledgeable bunch. I've made the decision to purchase a 991.2 Turbo Cab (likely a TTS).

I'm pretty particular about getting exactly what I want which likely means I'll be getting in line to order a brand new one from the dealer (I know, the depreciation hit will hurt, but whoever said buying one of these makes any financial sense?).

I'm new to Porsche, this will be a 3rd car, weekend car, maybe the occasional track car but definitely not any major dedicated track time, and as result, I would benefit from your feedback on a few items. Of course, I want the Turbo S, for the extra horsepower and some of the goodies, and that S badge but what I am questioning is:

1) PCCB - Since this is not a track car, are the PCCB worth what appears to be a $20K rotor replacement costs down the road? Some discussions indicate they should last the life of the car (therefore worth it if I keep the car longterm) others claim they are not worth it? Any new opinions on that from this group?

2) Centerlock Wheels - they look good but I'm inclined to stay away from them for ease of tire changing and wheel options. I'm not close to a Porsche Dealer (I guess that is relative - I'm 30 miles away but that is a 2 hour drive with traffic).
2a) If I found a car on the lot that I liked with CLs, is it a relatively easy process to switch back to 5-lug wheels?