GT3RS track questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2016, 03:28 PM
h_gt3
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GT3RS track questions

Hi all,

I've taken my RS to the track three times so far (just passed the 1000km today )
The car is awesome. Really planted and fast at corners. It has a lot more grip compared to the GT3 at the limit. Today for example I was three second faster on the same track I used to go in my 991 GT3. Mind you I'm a better driver with RS

Anyhow I wanted to get your view on these questions.

1- do you shift manually or keep it in Auto and why? I keep auto on with sport+ because I can focus on my line and not worry about over riving and changing gear at turns.

2- I tried the sport+ off today and I felt much better. Didn't check if I was faster but I got rid of the "jumps" on fast turns which sometimes upset my balance. What do you guys do? Does it impact your speed?

3- whats was the best tire pressure you used? I tried 32psi front and 34psi back today and the car was drifting after few laps. The pressure reached 38psi for rears on monitor. Then I went down by 2 on both and it was fine. It was a hot day.

Feel free to share other "tricks" you use with your toys on the track.
Old 02-27-2016, 03:37 PM
TRAKCAR
Rennlist Member

Received 1,648 Likes on 765 Posts

Thanks and congratulations for taking it to the track

What track?

I do manual. In sport + it just revs too high sometimes without the need and in manual I can short shift here and there when needed. Sport + bangs gears harder but raises the limit of SC and TC. So I don't put it in Sport + unless SC slows me down without it (bad driving).

Best pressure for me was 30-32f 32-34R hot.

Found the car better with sway bar full stiff rear middle front.

See the thread RS SETUP NUMBERS
Old 02-27-2016, 03:40 PM
1198r
Pro

Great to hear your views. Many on here more experienced than I but my comments would be:

- I shift manual, sport + and stiffen suspension