Sponsored by:

Any potential issues with these side deletes

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2015, 03:54 PM
Jimmy-D
Race Director

Received 1,450 Likes on 754 Posts
Default Any potential issues with these side deletes

I am not a mechanic/engineer nor educated on this topic of deleting the side mufflers with straight pipes either with valves (TPC, Fabspeed) or w/o (BBC, FVD). But, could these cause any potential issues besides driving your neighbors nuts. I have the rear bypass and it just seems insignificant, in comparison, to deleting those big *** side mufflers

Thoughts??
Old 06-14-2015, 05:23 PM
Mike in CA
Race Director

Received 128 Likes on 67 Posts

I've said this before but I know it falls mostly on deaf ears, so TEHO. But the word from the GT3 development team is that the exhaust system is one of the most carefully engineered pieces of the engine package and that the bypass valves and other parts have been optimized with the ECU for the best possible performance. It amazes me that people are willing to replace and remove parts on spec with seemingly little consideration for this fact just so their exhaust will make more noise. I'm sure I'm in the minority, however, so flame away. Just my $.02 and end of rant.
Old 06-14-2015, 06:22 PM
SunnySD
Rennlist Member

Received 15 Likes on 5 Posts

Engineered with what purpose in mind? To meet noise ordinances ? Emissions? Or performance? Maybe I'm wrong, but I don't see PSE systems on cup cars or other motorsport racing. There is no way the PSE can keep up with the wide range of RPM shifts on the track/street to modulate the torque curve.
Old 06-14-2015, 07:24 PM
ipse dixit
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 11,526 Likes on 5,055 Posts

May want ask some of the 7.2 GT3 guys.

They delete side mufflers and ended up cracking the OEM third bypass.