Sponsored by:

Complete newby from East Bay, San Francisco

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2014, 08:14 PM
Ducati1199
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Complete newby from East Bay, San Francisco

Hi all, probably supposed to post these "new to the forum" messages elsewhere but I haven't looked anywhere other than the 911 GT3 thread.
My story - as you can probaly tell from the user name I'm a biker and have a commute bike - BMW S1000R, a track bike - GSXR-750 and a weekend blaster - no surprises here a Ducati Panigale 1199!! I'll be honest I've always respected the Porsche brand but they've never done anything for me in stirring the soul. However, at two track days I did this year we shared the track (not at the same time?!?!?) with cars. I thought this would be a good opportunity for me to hitch a ride in a Ferrari or Lambo but couldn't find the owners so by chance I got a ride at both track days in a 2010 and then 2014 GT3. And I think I got hooked or fell in love or both!! I spend my entire working career using my head so when it comes to my toys I buy with the heart much to the dismay of the wife and bank manager. I'm also one of those guys who when he gets an itch he needs to scratch it. My problem is I have a 550i, Tundra and an F-Type V8S in the garage as well as the three bikes. The F Type would have to go but I'm 12 months in to a 36 month lease and being a Brit in the USA I'm not sure how financially costly that would be to buy my way out? Obviously need to get in and talk with them. Would a Porsche dealer buy the lease out to get me a GT3? Need to learn more about the American fiancial system.