Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PDK vs. Manual for the Long Term?

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2019, 02:21 PM
mchrono
Three Wheelin'

Received 425 Likes on 265 Posts
Default PDK vs. Manual for the Long Term?

It normally does not actually turn out this way, but many of us probably like to think our next purchase will be a long-term keeper. There was a case not too long ago of a 997 customer just out of warranty who had his PDK go South. The dealer’s solution was to have him purchase a whole new PDK for $20k, because apparently, dealers are not authorized to open up a PDK to do a simple internal repair.

We already know PIWIS is required just for scheduled PDK fluid service. How many of you have made the decision to purchase a manual over PDK due to long term reliability / serviceability concerns?

Old 08-09-2019, 02:38 PM
Quikag
Rennlist Member

Received 245 Likes on 93 Posts

I typically don't keep cars out of warranty due to risk mitigation (I'm a conservative CPA), especially expensive ones like my 991.2 GT3. I have PDK and honestly, I think it's the "safer" option. Anyone can money shift a manual transmission and if you're scared of a $20k PDK transmission possibly going south, look up the cost of a new GT3 engine. And, it's not just you to be worried about. Anyone else that touches your car (dealer, valet, whatever) can money shift and you may not know for another week or two when the engine pops because money shifts don't always immediately show effects.
Old 08-09-2019, 02:46 PM
cscrogham
Rennlist Member

Received 157 Likes on 86 Posts