Sponsored by:

Warranty Question? HELP???

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2014, 10:09 PM
est8esq
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Warranty Question? HELP???

I bought a 2014 Cayman S to run while the GT3 was awaiting its heart transplant.

I'm getting ready to sell the Cayman and want it perfect. The front driver's side brake caliper leaked brake fluid and permanently discolored and stained the red brake caliper.

The car only has 1300 miles on it and I've never swapped brake fluid, so I never touched the brakes.

The dealer said this is usual for cars that are tracked and it isn't covered by warranty?

I've been tracking for 12 years and have run more cars than I care to admit and I've never heard of any car considered to be normal bleeding brake fluid?

Since this forum houses so many track rats, I'm curious on all of your thoughts?
Old 08-09-2014, 10:13 PM
Mike in CA
Race Director

Received 127 Likes on 67 Posts

What BS. The dealer is simply using tracking as an excuse for not honoring the warranty. I suppose it's too late to tell him you haven't tracked the car....
Old 08-09-2014, 10:31 PM
parkerfe
Burning Brakes

Received 237 Likes on 142 Posts

You never said whether or not you did track the car?
Old 08-09-2014, 11:15 PM
997TTMeteor
Pro

Received 29 Likes on 13 Posts

Can you go to another dealer?
Old 08-09-2014, 11:30 PM
est8esq
Racer

Originally Posted by parkerfe
You never said whether or not you did track the car?
Yes, I did track the car. Ironically, the dealer charged me a premium to swap out the OEM pads for Carbotechs as well as Hoosiers in lieu of the stock tires prior to deliver.

So, to say they knew I was going to track it should be more like they helped me track it.
Old 08-09-2014, 11:59 PM
Mike in CA
Race Director

Received 127 Likes on 67 Posts