Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Computer acting up...

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2012, 01:20 AM
mr_quick
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Computer acting up...

Hey all,

I've been a Porsche owner for the past 2 months. I own a base model 2007 Cayman. The car has roughly 49k miles and is acting odd.

Problem: Almost daily, the computer will warn me about my Right-Rear tire pressure and will say that it's not working. (doesn't look low at all) If I pull a tight right corner it usually reads the tire. The weird thing is that sometimes the computer tells me that all of the Tire Pressure Monitors aren't working and it can't read their PSI.

The little diagram with all four tires has blank lines and my instrument cluster is riddles with " ! "s. I know it could be a bad monitor in that certain tire, but why do they all go out?

Any ideas before I take it in?? Again, I'm brand new to the Porsche game and apologize for any newbie questions or remarks.

Thanks,
Carlo
Old 11-21-2012, 09:06 AM
Bob Rouleau

Still plays with cars.
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 256 Likes on 119 Posts

The monitors are battery powered. Eventually the battery goes dead. Could be as simple as that.
Old 11-21-2012, 10:23 AM
mr_quick
4th Gear

Originally Posted by Bob Rouleau
The monitors are battery powered. Eventually the battery goes dead. Could be as simple as that.
Is this something I can check or do I have to take it in?
Old 11-29-2012, 05:41 PM
skippster123
7th Gear

Default man you said...what a pain re: tire pressure