Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

RMS found seeping during PPI inspect...

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2010, 12:10 PM
crispy
AutoX

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RMS found seeping during PPI inspect...

I'm shopping a 2007 2.7 with 25k miles that has been wonderfully cared for. The PPI showed no other problems other than a "seeping" rear main. It is under warranty until May 2011. I'm a mechanic and while not happy about this find, I'm not too freaked out either. Will a RMS leak ("seep") on a Porsche take out the clutch plate? Should I get it fixed immediately! Should I not buy this car? Just looking for input. The plan is to fly to the car next week and drive it home.... Thanks, C.
Old 05-23-2010, 12:43 PM
Macster
Race Director

Received 252 Likes on 222 Posts

Originally Posted by crispy
I'm shopping a 2007 2.7 with 25k miles that has been wonderfully cared for. The PPI showed no other problems other than a "seeping" rear main. It is under warranty until May 2011. I'm a mechanic and while not happy about this find, I'm not too freaked out either. Will a RMS leak ("seep") on a Porsche take out the clutch plate? Should I get it fixed immediately! Should I not buy this car? Just looking for input. The plan is to fly to the car next week and drive it home.... Thanks, C.
Did the PPI give you any indication of the severity? A drop or two or a puddle?

If a drop or two... that's one thing. A puddle is something else.

If the car's still covered under warranty and the warranty will fix the RMS leak then you can insist the leak be fixed before hand and at a qualified shop -- ideally at a Porsche dealer service department -- or buy the car -- and use the presence of the RMS leak to drive the price down some -- and then arrange to have the car fixed once you get it home.