Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

performance options for Boxster/Cayman S

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2010, 03:01 AM
bedrock
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default performance options for Boxster/Cayman S

Hello everyone,

I will be ordering my first Porsche this week and hope the groups collective wisdom can help me finalize the options for my car. I included both Boxster and Cayman in my title because I struggled for a long time deciding between a Boxster S or a Cayman S and I virtually never see Boxsters with PASM, sports chrono, or locking differentials.

I've never really had a performance car before, although I love speed and could see myself do a few track days a year, (but I've never done that before). Just got a significant promotion which is making this jump possible to a Boxster S from the very old Acura I've been driving.

----My Questions-----

1- How much of a difference does PASM make on 18in tires when not on the track?, i.e. driving hard on back roads?
I've never been on a track, but would like to start doing so a few times a year, but I'm not sure how much I'll get into the racing side of things.
I'm definitely getting sports chrono + PDK, because I want the maximize the power of my Boxster S, but I'm not sure how much I would notice the PASM difference.

2-Same question regarding the option mechanical rear differential. How much would a enthusiast but non-professional driver notice a difference with this in a well-balanced mid engine car, when driving hard on the back roads, and infrequently on the track?

3-Have people thought that the sound package plus you get with the Boxster S to be a decent set of speakers? I'm not an audiophile, and don't turn the music extremely loud but I don't want to buy a Porsche and be annoyed by tinny sounding speakers.