Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PCCB Weight Savings Per Axle?

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2006, 09:18 PM
fletch
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question PCCB Weight Savings Per Axle?

Porsche claims a weight savings of about half for the rotor weight. Anyone know how many lbs that is?
Old 10-27-2006, 09:29 PM
FTS
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

~10lbs per crnr
Old 10-28-2006, 04:36 AM
Dr. Car
Racer

Granted I'm not good at searching, but I looked and couldn't find any data on the performance improvement earned from saving 10#/corner with PCCB. It must be measurable, seeing as how competitors will go out of their way to save a pound or two of unsprung weight, particularly if it's rotating unsprung weight.

It would be very interesting to get good data points comparing a Cayman or 997 with and without PCCB, including acceleration, lap time (autocross or tight track) with data acquisition, and braking distances. I know it's out there, but does anyone reading this have it & is willing to share it?
Old 10-28-2006, 10:33 AM
FTS
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

I don't have real data; however, Donny and GH Sharp from Richmond area (or was it North Carolina?) were campaining a CS with PCCB at the beginning of the solo season, which I hear they gave up now as it is not competitive in the SS class. They competed locally against boxsters and may be one or two CSs occasionally and they put 1-2 seconds difference to all. That says nothing about the PCCB of course as they are both very good solo drivers.

I think the real performance benefit to PCCB is its resistance to fade at the track. This durability is the key, as positioned by Porsche, in endurance races. Beyond that, at my level, such savings do not have much meaning.
Old 10-28-2006, 11:12 AM
mooty
GT3 player par excellence
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 5,639 Likes on 2,319 Posts