Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Malfunction of PDK shifing?

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2021, 10:09 PM
SteveG
Rennlist Member

Received 98 Likes on 77 Posts
Default Malfunction of PDK shifing?

Car is 2012 CS pdk. Did autox last weekend. On the track, off the line on about the 5th run the car was not shifting to a higher gear. I believe it was staying in 2nd. Lifting did not cause it to shift into a higher gear. I'm a complete newby to autox. I believe the first time it did this,I was in sport mode. I turned sport off but it continued this behaviour. I went off course (aborting the run) and tried using paddle shifting to get to the staging area. Paddles worked, but the shifter was in the right (manual) position and paddles should not have operated shifts, at least I think that what is supposed to happen. On the way home in auto mode it would shift normally if I was not flooring it as I did on the course. If I floored and then used paddle, both red lights in the pod were on simultaneously indicating that I was in auto and manual at the same time. See pic. The shifter was not in the left position, it was in auto as in normal street driving In about 10 to 15 seconds the left (manual) light would go out as if it was timed out, but the shifter was always in auto (right) position. This is only the second time I have auto crossed, first time on this course. It never did this before. Am I missing something? It can't be right that both lights illuminate simultaneously. Pic was taken days later when I took it to rural area and could recreate the issue; and stopped in breakdown lane before the light timed out.

Old 11-14-2021, 06:16 PM
Robert Nixon
Racer

Received 159 Likes on 100 Posts