Notices
981 Forum Discussions of the 3rd Gen Boxster and 2nd Gen Cayman (2012-2016)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cobb Accessport / Headers Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2022, 06:00 PM
mkp81
Rennlist Member

Received 171 Likes on 38 Posts
Default Cobb Accessport / Headers Question

I'm still fairly new to the 981 game so sorry for the rookie question here but I recently added a Cobb Accessport + PDK tune and some filters to my GTS.
I'm now considering Soul long tube headers to really wake it up. A Cobb rep said if I go with headers I'll need to take the car to a tuner for a pro tune. So, is the accessport obsolete at that point, aside from the PDK update? Or does a 'pro tuner' utilize the accessport?
Didn't do my homework on all this ahead of time, obviously.
I don't track the car, really just want a little more grunt when I'm doing some spirited driving.

TIA
Old 06-13-2022, 09:29 PM
chase15
Rennlist Member

Received 212 Likes on 80 Posts

The pro tuner still need the Cobb Accessport to tune your car. Instead of the OTS map tune from Cobb, the tuner will make a custom map depending on what mods you have and the dyno results then use the access port to flash the ECU of your car.
My 981 S has sports headers and is pro tuned. Compare to the stage 2 OTS map from cobb, it made more HP and the power delivery was much better and smoother.
Old 06-14-2022, 09:51 AM
DC021
Rennlist Member

Received 275 Likes on 135 Posts

Originally Posted by chase15
My 981 S has sports headers and is pro tuned. Compare to the stage 2 OTS map from cobb, it made more HP and the power delivery was much better and smoother.
What was the original stage 2 intended for? An car with high flow Headers?

Thanks!
Old 06-14-2022, 10:46 AM
chase15
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by DC021
What was the original stage 2 intended for? An car with high flow Headers?

Thanks!