Notices
981 Forum Discussions of the 3rd Gen Boxster and 2nd Gen Cayman (2012-2016)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

981 CS Suspension Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2022, 12:40 PM
torvektheo
Advanced

Received 57 Likes on 29 Posts
Default 981 CS Suspension Question

Hello guys,

I am new to the Porsche. I come from BMW M and we usually swap parts without too much issues (M4 fits M3 etc.). Here is my question:

I would like to install the x73 Sport suspension kit on my manual 981 Cayman S. Well.. there is a shortage/backorder with no ETA. Checked with Porsche resalIers, Suncoast, etc. I wanted to find out if the Boxster version of the same X73 kit can be used on a Cayman. I did a research and I know the spring rates are different, but I wanted to know if this is the only difference between the 2 kits. Are there mounting hardware differences between Boxster and Cayman suspensions?

From my research I see people installing the X73 PDK version on Manual cars or vice versa. I know that is doable within the same 981 model, but I could not find any details if a Boxster manual version can be installed on a Cayman Manual or even the PDK version etc. Thank you for your input

Note: If someone has a X73 Sport Suspension for Manual Cayman for sale (whole kit.. suspension, sway bars, new bolts) hit me up as this will resolved my dilemma. Thanks
Old 04-08-2022, 01:54 PM
nhnguy12
Rennlist Member

Received 621 Likes on 230 Posts

All the parts should physically fit. Just the spring and sway bar rates will be slightly different between each of the variants.

I just went with Ohlins because the back-order time for my specific variant was too long. Gives you the ability to adjust the height and stiffness how you like as well.

Also, I drive a 2014 Cayman S w/ PDK and was able to install the X73 rear bar from a Boxster PDK without any issues.

Last edited by nhnguy12; 04-08-2022 at 01:55 PM.
Old 04-08-2022, 02:55 PM
okie981
Rennlist Member

Received 618 Likes on 422 Posts