Notices
981 Forum Discussions of the 3rd Gen Boxster and 2nd Gen Cayman (2012-2016)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

981 Base or S/Manual or PDK?

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2019, 11:29 PM
bluejam
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 981 Base or S/Manual or PDK?

Hello all. My first post in this particular forum. I used to be in the 993 and 997 area. Both those cars are out of my life, sadly, but I have now been craving another Porsche. And Cayman has been winning my love.
I am just beginning my search and have narrowed it down to the 981. I really love the styling over the 987.2 so that model is out.
I will be able to afford around $45K so a 2014 981S is doable. I have always had manual trans in my P-cars but I am finding them very difficult to find in the 981. I drove a 2016 981S with manual trans yesterday and it made me wonder if I might now prefer the PDK in my old age. I need to find one to test drive.
Also, I am even beginning to wonder if I could save some cash by just going with a base model. I had a base 981 loaner once when my 997 was having maintenance and I felt it lacked power.
I would love some thoughts from folks that have knowledge of both.
One more thing, I only want one in white.
Old 01-16-2019, 11:49 PM
saabin
Rennlist Member

Received 545 Likes on 357 Posts

I found my '14 981 CS for 46.5 very recently, so you are very close. Mine had 22K miles, so a few more miles and you are right there..

I wasn't really a fan of the PDK when I first drove one (years ago) but I think I was driving it too easy. I really like the way it feels/sounds when you wind this thing up.. it loves to rev!

I'd stick with your S requirement and you should be able to have your choice of MT or PDK.. Def test drive a PDK one, and find one with sport chrono and PSE if you can.. Wind it up on the test drive in sport and sport+ modes and let us know what you think..
Old 01-16-2019, 11:52 PM
bluejam
Rennlist Member

What is the difference between Sport and Sport+?