Notices
968 Forum 1992-1995

968 as DD? Yeah/nay and your reasons.

Old 08-16-2012, 10:13 PM
docmirror
Shameful Thread Killer
Rennlist Member

Received 75 Likes on 60 Posts
Default 968 as DD? Yeah/nay and your reasons.

We've had a small vehicular emergency in the fam and are looking at the 92 968 as a DD. It is now in good shape, but not perfect. Commute will be about 11 miles one way, plus after hours use of maybe 200 miles per week.

Specific questions:
1) Will it run ok on 89 octane? I'm thinking yes because it has two knock sensors and can adapt to lower fuel octane.
2) What kind of economy can I expect on a 6sp coupe? Mostly fwy driving.
3) Overheating tendencies? I'm in TX, and it's hot in summer.

If you DD your 968 please provide some expertise.
Old 08-16-2012, 10:24 PM
pontifex4
Drifting

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Doc, I can't speak to the fuel choice or reliability, as I'm new to them, too, but I would suggest that you check your fan wiring and relays if you're concerned about overheating. If you have good low- and high-speed fan behaviour per Clark's Garage, and your cooling system can withstand a pressure test, I think you should go for it.

The only limitation I can think of is that it's a much lower car than the average vehicle on North American roads these days.
Old 08-16-2012, 11:00 PM
odurandina
Team Owner

Location: one thousand, five hundred miles north of Ft. Lauderdale for the summer.
Received 212 Likes on 153 Posts

great daily driver. of course. i daily drive it. transcon daily drive it. use it. abuse it.

most reliable P-car ever. but does require the Rennlist saints to do the preventative wrenching for me.

cuz i won't ever learn me how to mess with the variocam system.
Old 08-16-2012, 11:28 PM
Cloud9...68
Burning Brakes

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts