Notices
968 Forum 1992-1995

Car Stereo - no sound from speakers...

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2010, 10:26 PM
miramar_trieste
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car Stereo - no sound from speakers...

Hi guys need some help troubleshooting a problem with a car I purchased. (It's a '93 968) I am by no means an expert at car stereo issues.

I put the deck on the mount, it turns on - all lights are working. I switch to disc, and insert a normal CD. It shows that it's playing, volume is up to about 30, but I have no sound!

I opened the glove box and there are two components - one has a bunch of equalizers and it's turned on and lighted up. The other is some switch, and it's turned on also. I played around with the switches, but again no sound.

I looked in the trunk, and there is an amp, and sub woofer...not sure if there is a switch there that I need to check?

Any help is appreciated. Sorry for the lack of knowledge here on car stereo's...
Old 07-27-2010, 08:28 AM
John Etnier
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You have a custom stereo of some kind and would be best off taking it to a car stereo shop near you. Maybe the installing shop left receipts or a sticker for you to reference.
Old 07-28-2010, 05:29 PM
miramar_trieste
Instructor

Yeah I have no idea what's going on. I called the stereo shop they said it could be a fuse or maybe the speakers have blown. Sometimes when one speaker is not working, by default the stereo turns off all of them...I'll update the forum once I find out Friday...
Old 07-29-2010, 04:34 PM
ryan@usaimage.com
Instructor

Sounds like the preamp out cord is not connected to the power amp. This would allow everything to light up and look like it works, but no sound. Do you see a pair of RCA phono plugs going into the back of the head unit? Are they plugged into the power amp or check the lines between the EQ in the glove-box and the next unit. Just a thought...
Old 08-13-2010, 03:25 PM
miramar_trieste
Instructor