Help With Barn Find '93 Turbo

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2010, 01:20 PM
MechanicalEng
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help With Barn Find '93 Turbo

Guys
I just found an artic silver with deviated red/black interior 93 Turbo. The car has 9,xxx miles (nine thousand). The car is all original except the radio. It has the Porsche speedlines and thats pretty much all I know so far. I have no experience with oil/air cooled cars. I will be getting a PPI but just wanted to get any aditional tips or information on what to look for in these cars. Also what would be a reasonable offer? do these cars really sell for 60-70k in these days? this car in not located in the US, is located in South America and the owner is desperate to get rid of it. I made a ridiculously low offer and he accepted!! it and now I am freaking out.
Thanks
Old 05-16-2010, 02:20 PM
Metal Guru
Rennlist Member

Received 431 Likes on 311 Posts

I've seen asking prices of around $50k for low mileage examples but don't know what they ultimately sold for.
If bought at the right price it could be a good deal. Hopefully it's been stored in a way that minimized deterioration.
What to look for: leakdown of 15% or less, no interior rot, no rust (especially around the windshield). You most likely will have to replace all the perishable parts (tires, oil lines, rubber brake lines) but as I stated, bought right it could still be a good deal.
Old 05-16-2010, 03:26 PM
JGC930
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If I might ask where in South America is the car located?
Old 05-16-2010, 03:36 PM
MechanicalEng
Burning Brakes

the 1993 Turbo is a 3.6 correct?
Old 05-16-2010, 04:05 PM
Vifa
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by MechanicalEng
the 1993 Turbo is a 3.6 correct?
Yes.

Just curious, any pics ?
Old 05-16-2010, 04:36 PM
Boeing 717

Received 264 Likes on 159 Posts

Hey thats really cool, let us know how it turns out!!!
Old 05-16-2010, 06:13 PM
Big Jock