964 Turbo Forum 1989-1994

Fuel accumulator advice?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2024, 05:21 PM
cobalt
Rennlist Member

Received 2,090 Likes on 1,255 Posts
Default Fuel accumulator advice?

So I have been saying for a few years I was going to swap out my fuel accumulator. Well I hate to say I am about to put the original one back. Don't let anyone tell you it is a fun job.

So the symptoms are common. Starts great when stone cold drives nicely has full power but when it gets hot and sits for a few hours it is difficult to start and needs a little gas to get her to idle normally taking a few min before settling in. It is embarrassing when leaving a show when the car doesn't fire up properly and in all honesty doesn't sound half as good as my C2. Another project for another day.

I made an assumption it was the accumulator but that is my own fault. After pulling half the engine apart and testing the accumulator I clearly wasted my time. I decided to test the new unit and the original unit to the car. I pulled a vacuum on both units and I see no loss of vacuum on either side of the diaphragm. They both respond to the test the same way.

So question? Would you reinstall the original 39k mile 30 year old accumulator or take a chance with the new one and hope it is better than most other products I am getting from Porsche new? Any advice would be appreciated. I hope to get this back together soon as we are about to resurrect the Blue Meanie project and I want to focus on that.

So I guess it is onto checking control pressures and the rest. I have to dust off my CIS test kit I haven't used it since I owned my SC's. Not looking forward to the time needed to do this. If everything looks good I will pull test and clean my injectors and check the fuel pumps but so far everything appears to be fine.