964 C2 non starting advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2015, 10:24 AM
backitoff
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 964 C2 non starting advice

Hi Guys
Car not starting or even trying to. Pulling my hair out now as I have limited electrical knowledge, and done as much as I can.
Please read the background info...............

A few weeks ago it would not start from cold. I gave the DME a wriggle and away she went......................................

The day before the most recent and final no start I was sitting in commuter traffic and the car cut out, I go straight for the DME and swap it with my spare as I was suspicious given previous problem. I noted that the relay taken out was very hot. Anyway, car drove home fine, so I figured bad DME and problem solved.
Couple of days go by and I reversed my car out of the garage, 2hrs later went to go out in the car and it would not start. Turns over, but will not, and does not attempt to fire.

OK, so it seemed that the fuel pump was not pumping as the engine was cranking. Checked out the fuel pump and established that it is OK, but is not pumping fuel when needed, so I figured that perhaps my alarm immobiliser was faulty. I got an auto electrician to come and remove my alarm in the hope that it would solve the problem. It did not.

Purchased another DME (from Porsche dealer) in case my spare had gone bad, still no joy. Had the auto electrician check connections etc and he could find no problems, but the car still will not run.

Did some more research on Rennlist (fantastic resource, you guys are legends) and all seemed to point at the flywheel sensor. Just fitted a new one, and still the same. At a complete loss now, as my knowledge and ability have been reached, and seriously thinking I may need to take it somewhere :-(

From my limited knowledge I am pretty sure there is something not sending a signal to the fuel pump / ignition to allow the car to start.