C4 - Hard Brake Pedal, No Warning Light

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2011, 03:55 PM
Fast John
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C4 - Hard Brake Pedal, No Warning Light

Hello Rennlist,

I have a 1990 964 C4. 189K miles or so. I have had the car a couple years and drive it when conditions allow. Although I have extensive experience with both domestic and foreign cars for 35 years and have built a few hot rods and race cars, I am learning all about my C4 the hard way (my son and I have nicknamed it "The Hubble" for reasons I'm sure most of you understand).

Here's my problem: I suddenly have a hard brake pedal, but NO warning lights while casually driving to work today. Let me outline the events that preceded this event.

A month or so ago I had the hard brake pedal problem WITH warning lights. After researching the fine Internet 964 forums, I was able to diagnose the problem as a bad pressure switch on the ABS pump unit. I replaced the switch and bled the system two days ago per instructions in Adrian's book. Although the brake fluid in the system looked fine, I ran about two quarts of new brake fluid through the system during bleeding to be sure no old fluid remained in the system.

I drove the car to work the next day (70 miles round trip) and everything was working fine. Then on the way to work the day after that (another 35 miles) the hard brake pedal was suddenly back but no warning lights this time.

I have been unable to find any reference with these same symptoms in the forums and I wonder if anyone could suggest what I should be checking that could be causing this?

John
Texas / New York

Current Stable:
1972 Datsun 240 Z - SCCA Solo II FP race car
1986 Toyota MR2
1990 Porsche C4
1996 Corvette C4 - Collectors Editon
1997 Chevy Suburban
2002 Z71 Z71 Suburban
2003 BMW SMG M3
2005 Mercedes Benz C230 Kompressor

Last edited by Fast John; 09-21-2011 at 04:01 PM. Reason: Add Sig
Old 09-21-2011, 04:27 PM
KaiB
Nordschleife Master