Sponsored by:

Drivers seat problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2011, 08:33 AM
Carrera51
Rennlist Member

Received 199 Likes on 124 Posts
Default Drivers seat problem

Hey guys. My driver's seat is 8 way power. When the Mrs. went to drive the car she tried to move the seat forward and it's only sliding on the left side. It's like the sliders are stuck on the inside. What's the best way to trouble shoot this? Also, is there a way to manually move the seat for and aft?

Thanks,
Old 06-06-2011, 01:52 PM
911Jetta
Rennlist Member

Received 485 Likes on 278 Posts

I only have the 4 way adjustable seats (manual fore/aft sliders), so I'm not an expert on the 8 way...

That said, one of my seat height adjustors is not working, (like your seat) only half the seat is moving. In my case, one of the cables has unclipped from the worm-gear that adjusts seat height. Maybe you're experiencing the same thing?

Here's a good DIY with pics: http://p-car.com/diy/seatshaft/
Old 06-06-2011, 02:24 PM
user 783003
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The drive cables for the seat adjustments are the same cable types as the convertible top. They may shorten over time like the convertible top cables? I pulled all of them out of my old seats when I upgraded to 993 seats. I sold a couple of them on eBay, but may have the ones you need in a box at home.
Old 06-06-2011, 02:50 PM
Laker
Drifting

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

Originally Posted by Carrera51
... it's only sliding on the left side. It's like the sliders are stuck on the inside. What's the best way to trouble shoot this....
Thanks,
This may sound silly, but my seat freezes up every couple of months, Passenger, once, and always I've been able to free it by sitting in the seat and rocking around in circles like I was using a hula hoop. Not while pressing the switch though. give it a shot.
Old 06-07-2011, 05:47 AM
kenloen
Intermediate