Sponsored by:

Yellow 964 Targa

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2011, 05:00 AM
Brian964
5th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Yellow 964 Targa

Hi everyone, I am a 964 Newbie to Rennlist.

Targa picture is below.

A few days back I posted an entry in the “Ultimate Targa” thread. Many thanks PNine64 and ducnine for the comments.

Yes the yellow colour is unusual. From what I have read, yellow was not a standard and only supplied as a requested option.

Unfortunately I cant confirm that my coating was as factory supplied. There is a Porsche paint sticker in the boot, and the guys who did the PPI in December when I purchased the car, assured me that it had not been resprayed. But I do not have the original log book, and the data bank information in the boot has gone missing.

The car was originally delivered to Japan, and then came to Australia by way of New Zealand. So its certainly done a bit of travelling.

I have searched the Internet, and with tips from Renlist postings, run the VIN number through various data bases.

They all confirm the basic car information, type, year etc. and even reference some of the option codes. These codes correctly describe the features found in the car. But nothing is mentioned about the paint.

In the US it seems easy to get the Works Record info. Out here in Oz I am not sure how to do this. I spoke to the local Porsche people by phone, and they were able to pull up some data on their computer. Although helpful they could not tell me too much “because the record was in German”. They were not willing or able to send me a copy by e-mail.

I could try them again, but I thought that maybe I should get some hints from the experts first. Can anyone tell me if I can approach Porsche Germany directly, or if there is another way for ROW people to get factory Works Record information?