Notices
964 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Control Unit Faulty - code 41

 
Old 03-09-2011, 11:27 PM
  #1  
DWS964
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
DWS964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,170
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Control Unit Faulty - code 41

I hooked up the Scantool to the "new" widebody last night to see what codes, etc. were present. I finally have put about 100 miles on the car (crappy weather and roads....), and it seems to run pretty good. One thing that I noticed was the absence of the sound of the resonance flap opening up at around 5000rpm, and thus why I wanted to check things with the Scantool. Under the Test Outputs, I was able to confirm that the resonance flap does operate properly. Two things that showed up:
- the WOT switch would not come ON when the go-pedal was floored. I lengthened the rod under the gas pedal, and now the WOT goes ON. The throttle was simply not fully opening. I expect to get at least 25 more HP out of this "modification". Need to let the weather clear up again, and test this out.
- the Motronic showed Code 41- Control Unit Faulty - I cleared the code and restarted the car and the code came back after the second restart. The oddity is that the car seems to run fine and all inputs and outputs seem to be performing "normal".

In the Search, I found a reference to Checksum that will throw the code. And another reference that suggested that an aftermarket chip may be present and cause this code.

Thoughts from anyone?
I know....If it ain't broke, don't fix it. But, I am an Engineer - everything needs fixed.
DWS964 is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 12:00 AM
  #2  
mojorizing
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
mojorizing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kauai
Posts: 1,219
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The bottom two numbers that the scantool reports should correlate to the checksum table you reference...

261200450 and 126735344 correlates, does yours?



mojorizing is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 12:07 AM
  #3  
mojorizing
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
mojorizing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kauai
Posts: 1,219
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I think you'll need to crack open the ECU a determine if you have a custom chip though, which I think you must have.

Nice widebody, too!
mojorizing is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 09:54 PM
  #4  
DWS964
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
DWS964's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,170
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mojorizing View Post
I think you'll need to crack open the ECU a determine if you have a custom chip though, which I think you must have.

Nice widebody, too!
Thanks for the info and suggestions. I will hook up the Scantool this weekend for a re-check.
Does anyone have a helpful procedure for opening up the ECU to view the chip?

I know..... if it ain't broke, don't fix it.
DWS964 is offline  
Old 03-10-2011, 10:37 PM
  #5  
mojorizing
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
mojorizing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kauai
Posts: 1,219
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

mojorizing is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Control Unit Faulty - code 41


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: