Notices
964 Forum 1989-1994
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help with finding my first Porsche (Bay Area, CA)

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2007, 03:04 AM
ayw
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need help with finding my first Porsche (Bay Area, CA)

Hi all,

I am searching for my first Porsche, and after a little bit of research, I've settled on the 964. This will be my first car purchase, my first used car, and my first sports car. Basically, I'm a giant newb - I have a few questions, and would appreciate any help, especially with the last one...

1. Is the 964 a good choice for my first 911? I've seen debates regarding the 993 vs. the 964, but what about the 911 3.2 vs. the 964? I'm pretty set on the 964, but as it will be my only car, my daily driver, and I'm not terribly rich, I really need a reliable, solid car that will not be obnoxious to keep in good shape.

2. I've seen ppl here suggest Heyer Performance and RMG Enterprises in the Bay Area, CA (I'm in Palo Alto) - any thoughts on which one is better in regards to service, cost, honesty, etc.? I'll probably take my prospective 964 to them for a PPI and for all service, parts, etc.

3. If there are any 964 experts in the Bay Area with a spare weekend that's willing to lend me a physical hand, I'm eying the 1992 964 C2 in the Craigslist ad below. I checked it out once a couple weeks ago and have looked at a few others. My main concerns with my limited knowledge are the transmission and the power steering (both seem a bit stiff). If anyone can help me take a more qualified look at it this weekend or the next, I can offer a free meal and my everlasting gratitude

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/eby/car/470797598.html

Many thanks. I look forward to your responses and to joining (hopefully) the 911 community as a whole.

Best,
ayw

Last edited by ayw; 11-08-2007 at 03:48 AM.
Old 11-08-2007, 11:44 AM
1990-964
Pro

Default First Porsche

Hi,