Sponsored by:

1st DIY valve adjust.. DONE!

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2007, 09:35 PM
CRG
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
Thumbs up 1st DIY valve adjust.. DONE!

Today finished my first DIY'er valve adjustment. Last one was done by a shop at 92K the car now has 157K, didnt hear much ticking but because of the mileage I figured I'd give it a try. Not that bad of a DIY'er overall. I was very concerned about doing it myself but I held my breath, beared down until I felt my second nut drop then felt I had the confidence to get it done. Actually the hard part was taking all the crap off in order to get to the valves. Also had to adjust the damn secondary dizzy. I put a new belt on back in Jan and I guess it jumped a tooth or two on the belt because it was about 1.5 inches off TDC so I took the thing apart and put it back on the money, that was a real PITA.
The most concerning part was the dreaded "feel" of the feeler gauge, since I've never done this before I was a bit concerned I'd get them too loose, but I cant hear any ticking so I guess I did OK. The #3 and #6 intakes took some time to get the feeler in but once you find the right position you can get in in all day. Another concern was over tighting of the valve cover nuts because I dont have a torque wrench, but I gues I did that OK too since I dont seem to have any leaks. I was close to trying the backside method but opted for the traditional tried and true old school feeler gauge method.
Quite honestly the biggest royal PITA was that I had to drop the muffler because I had to monkey with the rear bumper, so I took it off. So I had the entire exhaust off. Putting that damn thing back by yourself is a serious PITA X 10!