Sponsored by:

Multimeter Reading

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2007, 11:14 AM
Trio
Rennlist Member

Received 277 Likes on 169 Posts
Default Multimeter Reading

I am a newbie to electronics, but am trying to test for a current drain on the battery using the very helpful write-ups found here on this topic. Anyway, I want to be sure I am reading my multimeter correctly. When placed in circuit with one of the battery cables disconnected, and all lights etc off for more than 20 minutes, and the multimeter set at 10A, I am getting a reading of .03 . I assume this means I have a current draw of 30 milliamps. Correct? This would be a little high but still in the "normal" range, also correct? Thanks for any help.
Old 04-09-2007, 12:47 PM
Sten
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yes, that's a draw of 30mA, which is about the same as my C4 draws.
Old 04-09-2007, 02:54 PM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,022 Likes on 727 Posts

reduce the range of the meter and you will have a much more accurate reading. You should be able to set it to the ma range.

30ma does sound a little high but not unreasonable. PS you don't need 20 mins, should show accurate as soon as any interior lights go out and an alarm has armed.
Old 04-09-2007, 02:58 PM
warmfuzzies
Drifting

Received 25 Likes on 10 Posts

20 mins after a run to allow the CCU fan to switch off.......

Kevin.
Old 04-09-2007, 03:05 PM
chancecasey
Burning Brakes

Maybe I'm missing something but isn't .03 x 10 = .300 or 300mA? 300 is far too high if that is in fact the current draw.
Old 04-09-2007, 03:27 PM
theiceman
Team Owner

Sorry fuzzies didn't realize you were driving it , I thought you were just going to the car and sticking the meter on. But be aware a bad relay or something that leaves that fan on will kill your battery.

Chance .. he is reading .03 amps which is 30ma
Old 04-09-2007, 03:31 PM
KirkF
Three Wheelin'

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

The formula is:

.03 Amp * 1000 mA/Amp = 30 mA