Sponsored by:

3.2 vs 964

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2006, 08:48 PM
BMWDavid
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3.2 vs 964

I'm new to the Porsche world. I've been looking at the classifieds and studying all I can about these cars.

Question: I thought I had narrowed down my choices to the '87-'88 range 3.2 cars. However I see that there is quite a lot of value in the early 964's.

Are the 964's any more problem prone than the 3.2's? I would be looking at the C2's not C4's. So the AWD system is of no concern to me. I'd like to hear from anyone who has experience or knowledge of both. I do like the looks of the 3.2 cars but the 964 has grown on me a bit.

Thanks!

David
Old 12-28-2006, 09:34 PM
1990-964
Pro

David,
I was in a similar place as you in 2003. Was convinced that an 87-89 3.2 Carrera was the car to own. Due to the long process of finding a good car I began to learn more about the 964. Though the early 964 models had some problems both minor and major, they have developed a reputation with some that may not be fully justified. To help put your mind at ease almost any of the affected cars have by now been fixed. Also 3.2 Carreras can also suffer from some problems. You MUST do the research to make an informed decision. Now as to my decision to buy a 964, I could not be happier. It is a far better drive especially if it is an everyday car. A good bit faster too, but the 87-89 cars seem to be in greater demand and consequently are worth more in many cases. Best of luck. Remember, Research, Research, and more Research. Learn all that you can to help avoid getting into trouble.
Old 12-28-2006, 10:32 PM
N51
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by 1990-964
David,