Sponsored by:

Thoughts on Tiptronic trans

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2006, 10:01 AM
RHedrick
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thoughts on Tiptronic trans

I'm new to Rennlist and have enjoyed reading may of the posts in this forum. Looking to purchase my first 911 and have narrowed my search preference to an early- mid 90's 964 or 993. I'm primarily looking to drive the car as a weekender or the occasional daily commute on a nice day.

I've recently found a beautiful 1992 964 with a Tiptonic transmission with approx. 83K miles with majority of service records. I don't know much about the Tiptronic trans and hope many of you could give me your thoughts, pros-cons, any issues to be aware of? I've not ever given much consideration to owning a tiptronic on a 911 as I figure in the enthusiast world they may be considered a "lesser" Porsche (if you could ever really say that). Perhaps it only comes down to personnal preference. Thoughts?

Last edited by RHedrick; 11-09-2006 at 11:36 AM.
Old 11-04-2006, 10:44 AM
Smokin
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Welcome to Rennlist!

The tiptronic transmissions (from what I've always heard and read) are pretty much bullit-proof... Just like the rest of the car. Then it's up to the driver/owner. Personally, I like a 5-speed. But then I sometimes regret that decision when I'm trapped in DC area rush hour traffic. I still love my 5-speed.... But wonder what the tip would be like.

I don't think you can make a bad decision here...
Old 11-04-2006, 11:46 AM
Heirsh
Burning Brakes

Drive em! Find a c2 you can try out and then decide.
Old 11-04-2006, 01:58 PM
sundog
Race Director

Received 197 Likes on 105 Posts

I live in the SF Bay Area, and use the car during the week for commuting. The Tiptronic is great. It would be better if it was a 5 speed tip, but ...

However, on the weekends around the back roads, I wish I had the manual, more control, more interactivity.

Drive both, in traffic, and on the open road.