Engine died/white smoke/major short

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2005, 04:05 PM
Mr.E
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine died/white smoke/major short

Hello Gentlemen,
First off, as you may have noticed, I'm a newbie here, so I must thank you all for all the insights and experience I've been absorbing for the last year.
As a first time P-car owner, I'm still learning a lot, so my contributions are limited.

Unfortunately, I need your help. Last week after giving my car some love, I took it out for a spin to go to a friends house and within 1/4 mile had a major malfunction.

As I was accelerating through the gears the engine died and I stopped on the median with white smoke billowing out of the engine compartment. The smoke was coming from the inside the fan and had a funky smell to it. Upon closer inspection, I have found the culprit, see link.

This is a shot from the top, with the cover behind the fan housing removed, looking towards the right.

http://www.allcoastsportfishing.com/...ousing-med.JPG

Am I correct to assume this is the hot lead coming off the alternator? See zoomed image:

http://www.allcoastsportfishing.com/..._short-med.jpg

So, the question is, what happened? Obviously I had a major short, but what could have caused it? Could the regulator do this? Could the alternator short out and do this? After I stopped the car, the battery light and gear light were on, and the battery died within hours. It has since been disconnected.

As far as symptoms leading up to this, hindsight is 20/20. I replaced the old battery a few months ago with a red top (optima), but I would still see the battery light come on at times. Mind you, I drive this car once or twice a week. It was never dead, but a little perflexing with a new battery. I'm wondering if this was a sign of things to come.