Sponsored by:

Oil Pressure drops to 0 when hot

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2005, 04:21 PM
Moonraker
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Oil Pressure drops to 0 when hot

This happened after a 40 minute drive during which all looked normal, the temperature guage at the end of the drive was reading just past the 9:00 o'clock mark. During the drive the oil pressure looked normal. Sitting in the driveway on my return with the enging at idle the idiot light came on and the oil pres read 0, increasing the RPM at first increased pressure but after a few seconds the pressure dropped to 0 and I shut the motor off. The only other thing I noticed on the drive was that the oil Qty, shown on the guage, did not drop to the bottom of the range as it usually does on acceleration.

Oil pump failure in my experience ususaly shows effects much sooner after start up.

I'm no expert on dry sump systems and would apreciate any insights as to what the cause might be. What would the symptms be for instance if the oil cooler loop was blocked and the thermostat opened???
Old 02-20-2005, 07:04 PM
ZAMIRZ
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Before you get too upset, at least change the gauge's sending unit to make absolutely sure you are getting a proper reading.
Old 02-21-2005, 03:17 AM
Bill Wagner
Addict
Rennlist Member

Out of curiousity, how many miles are on the car? D

I have to agree with the other poster who said you should be wary since you have BOTH the light and the meter showing low pressure. Also, since the level doesn't drop on the oil level indicator, it really sort of implies the oil isn't being pumped out ..... as in either some major clog or a pump failure. I wouldn't think a clog would happen instantaneously. I also wouldn't think that a clog in the cooler would do this, because the oil is, if I'm not mistaken (AND I MAY BE MISTAKEN) the oil circulates in more than one path even if the cooler was clogged.

Hope this helps,

Old 02-21-2005, 03:49 AM