Sponsored by:

964 - Good buy or run away??

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2019, 10:43 PM
Pcarlover
Instructor

Received 64 Likes on 27 Posts
Default 964 - Good buy or run away??

Okay so let me start off by prefacing this post with a short intro. I, like everyone else in the world (for the past decade) have wanted a 964. I currently have a GT4 and I’m looking at adding another weekend/project car to the stable. Nothing crazy, just a fun car that I can slowly restore.

I haven’t been looking seriously for very long, but always keep my ear to the ground so to speak. I’m no expert (hence why I’m posting here) so feel free to laugh me off the stage!

I’m just hoping to get a gut check on this before I waste anyone’s time driving a couple hours to go see it. It’s had an engine rebuild recently according to the seller. Sounds like it runs well. (See video)

Am I nuts or is this worth checking out?

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace...6840514081245/
Attached Files
File Type: mov
FullSizeRender.mov (4.46 MB, 99 views)
Old 12-03-2019, 11:04 PM
weekndr.porsche
Rennlist Member

Received 180 Likes on 69 Posts

Well, that's not a 964.
But the engine sounds good.
I would also have the seller send me a video of the engine under load, revving it up.
I'd also be wary of rust for that age of car, and that region of the country.
Old 12-03-2019, 11:13 PM
Pcarlover
Instructor

Ah, shows what I know (I've been hoping for an 89-94). So this is technically a G series then? I can have him send more videos. Am I better off spending $35k+ for decently mechanically sorted 964 over a G series? I don't really know where to start, but I'd rather go newer for reliability and condition sake (mainly rust). The additional power from the 3.2 and the G50 transmission are nice perks from what I've been hearing.
Old 12-03-2019, 11:24 PM
Greg Wolfe
Rennlist Member

Received 541 Likes on 276 Posts